Sacred Healing: Bringing the Divine Into Medicine–An Interview with C. Norman Shealy, M.D., Ph. D.

by larrytriv

Dr. C. Norman Shealy is a world-renowned neurosurgeonand one of the first physicians to ever specialize in the effective resolution of chronic pain.In 1971, he established the Shealy Institute, which was found by the American Academy of Pain Management to consistently achieve the best rate of success of any pain clinic they evaluated, at a cost that is sixty percent lower than the national average. Dr. Shealy is also one of the most acclaimed leaders in the field of holistic medicine, and served as the first president of the American Holistic Medical Association, which he founded in 1978.

During the course of his career, Dr. Shealy has contributed numerous pioneering techniques and inventions to the field of medicine. These include his development of dorsal column stimulation, which controls pain by electrically stimulating the dorsal column of the spinal cord; facet rhizotomy, which permanently and safely numbs irritating spinal joint nerves; transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS), which achieves pain control through gentle electrical stimulation; and Biogenics(R), an innovative method of self-regulation which helps patients achieve physical, mental, and emotional well-being.

Throughout his life, Dr. Shealy has been keenly interested in the role the Divine plays in healing, and for more than twenty years he has been investigating claims of healing through Divine intervention. During this time, he has tested the abilities of some of the world’s most renowned sacred healers in clinically controlled settings, and devised a series of scientific trials using sophisticated medical equipment to quantify the effects they had on patients, including at a distance. In addition, he has also documented over one hundred cases of terminally or chronically ill patients who were miraculously healed after modern allopathic (conventional) medicine had given up on them.

The following interview was originally conducted in early 1999, and is striking, in part, due to the prescience Dr. Shealy seems to have exhibited in predicting current world events.

What do you mean by “sacred healing”?

Well, really what I call “sacred healing” is all healing. My basic belief system is that healing takes place when there is adequate or total or perfect rapport between the Divine, the Cosmos, and the individual. That healing may be assisted by physicians, by medications, by surgery, by nutrition and herbs, or by a specialized person who does the laying on the hands or, quote, spiritual healing. But to me sacred healing is really all healing.

Based on the model that you’re espousing, do you agree that all of us have the potential to be our own healers?

Oh, yes. In my book I mention a book by Sally Hammond entitled We Are All Healers, and basically I think what she is saying is true. But I think we also can take advantage of assistance, or adjuncts of supported systems, to help us get there.

Obviously this is a completely different paradigm than the current medical monopoly in this country.

Well yes, I’ve never been called a sheep. (laughs) Basically, I don’t think that physicians heal. If physicians are lucky and blessed, they assist the process in restoring balance so that the body can heal itself. But we don’t cure, and we don’t heal. When you take out a tumor, even a benign tumor, the body still has to heal itself. All we can do is assist the process by removing the tumor mass.

Based on that perspective, what role do you feel that physicians are playing?

In acute illness, the role is significant. I think modern allopathic medicine, and sometimes osteopathic medicine, is essential to save your life or to save function. For example, if you have an epileptic seizure, if you have a heart attack, if you have a broken bone, if you have a major cut, or a serious infection, or meningitis, treating such conditions, I think, is primarily the province of allopathic medicine, and also partly the province of osteopathic medicine. In chronic disease of almost all types, medicine — and again I’m talking about modern allopathic medicine, which is the dominant field — may be supportive, but it is virtually never the major process in cure or in total control of the problem. Therein lies the rub. Medical students are taught only about serious and acute illness. That’s the model that goes to the medical centers where medical students are trained. They are not generally taught about the day to day management of chronic disease or things that are not curable by drugs or surgery. So they know nothing about the supportive systems that may reinforce natural homeostasis and help the patient recover.

In that sense, then, they’re only being prepared to perhaps deal with about twenty percent of the presenting issues that their patients are going to have with them. Because isn’t most illness chronic in this country?

Oh yes. Conservatively, eighty to eight-five percent of all illness is chronic. So what I’m saying is that modern medicine deals very poorly, very inadequately, and sometimes very excessively, in managing most chronic illness.

Getting back to your original point that all healing is spiritual healing. . .

Let me stop you there for a minute. There is a very fine line between spiritual and sacred. Spiritual, to me, refers to the soul level, if you will — the spirit or the soul. Sacred means God. In other words, the broader picture than, quote, just spirit or soul.

What are some of the hallmarks that differentiate the sacred from the spiritual?

Well, I think in general spiritual healers — whether it’s the laying on of hands, whether it’s prayer, whether it’s those people who do shamanistic medicine — they’re really dealing with getting at the personality of the person, the spirit or soul of the person, and they may or may not be really in touch with the Divine. But ultimately it is the connectedness of that individual patient with Cosmic or God energy, I think, that is healing.

In your book Sacred Healing you write that “all illness stems from an imbalance or sickness in the spirit of the individual patient.” What are some of the causative factors that create that imbalance in the first place?

In general it is a question of living in harmony with ideals. Jesus Christ said there are only two great laws: love thy God with all thy heart, and love thy neighbor as thyself. In other words, the basic disharmony occurs when we do not treat others as we would prefer to be treated. In other words, a breaking of the Golden Rule. Now interestingly approximately ninety percent of all people, when surveyed, say that they believe in the Golden Rule. But then we have what appears to be hypocrisy in living that. Just something simple. You go into a store and they undercharge you fifty cents or a dollar, for instance. How many people will stop and say, You’ve undercharged me, I owe you more? That’s at an exquisitely simple level of breaking the Golden Rule. And the closer one professes and believes one is aiming to live one’s ideals, I believe the more you are kept to that kind of law.

This is a principle, for instance, that can be found in autogenic training. J. H. Schultz, who created this wonderful self-hypnotic, very specialized technique starting back in the early part of the 20th century, wrote his first book in 1932. Schultz pointed out that when you begin to self regulate, when you take personal responsibility for controlling the physiology of your body, and controlling and managing your Self — Self with a big S — which means the soul and connectedness of the soul with the personality, or the “little self.” When you do that you become more sensitive. I’ll give you a perfect example. After I first had been practicing autogenic training for maybe nine months or so, I was getting pretty good at biofeedback and self-regulation. Then one day I got furious with somebody, very angry. The next day I was so hoarse, I couldn’t speak. Now, in other words, I became more sensitive, because of the commitment I made to reaching for the higher ideals. So the higher one’s spiritual aspirations, the less you can harm other people.

Now let’s take this to its ultimate. This includes even such things as environmental pollution. We don’t have, necessarily, any personal control over that, but it can kill us. People are killed by poisons. Now that is not that individual’s breaking with spiritual law. That is some unthinking person or group of people, or a company, breaking spiritual law, which then has a devastating health or life effect upon other people. So it’s always breaking a spiritual law. It may not be us personally, but it is at some level of being.

Now the one area where I have the greatest difficulty and cannot hone that to the final straw is accidents. I don’t know the details of it, but as a recent example, let’s consider John F. Kennedy, Jr.’s plane crash into the sea. I don’t know, but let us assume that there was actually a mechanical defect in the plane. That’s an accident. I don’t think that that is a personal break in John F. Kennedy, Jr.s’s spiritual law. If he made an error in judgement, which is another possibility — that somehow he made an error in judgement in flying and not knowing how to fly over an open sea — I don’t feel that one can say that was breaking of a spiritual law. There are true accidents, in my opinion. And that just is the way the Universe is. Nothing is totally understandable and totally controllable.

But just look at, let us say, diabetes. In general, except in juveniles and maybe to some extent there is an influence there, diabetes is a totally preventable disease. Even when one gets it in the early stages of adulthood, it is a totally controllable disease. But if you’re not willing to put the effort into it that requires proper nutrition, proper relaxation, and proper exercise, then you are breaking a spiritual law and you’re going to be on drugs instead of being able to control it without drugs. Now in children, we believe at this point, that it may well be ordinarily that a viral infection somehow attacks the tissue of the pancreas and the question then is: Is there a psychological emotional stress, sometimes not perceived by the adults around the child, that weakens that child’s immune system? Most likely it would be depression. There is no question in my mind that depression is the greatest weakener of the immune system, and the greatest precipitating and background cause, of more illness than all other known factors combined.

That’s a very strong statement. Where do you base it on?

From dealing with some twenty-five thousand people over the last twenty-eight years.

Depression is one of the dominant presenting emotions when you come in contact with them?

Oh, yes. I consider depression really the most common dis-ease in the world.

What do you think is contributing to that at this point in time in our history?

I think it is part of what I would call an existential crisis. A crisis of the spirit. You know, I go back to Victor Frankl often for my basic philosophy about this. Frankl, who spent four and a half years or more in a German concentration camp, said, “We could tell each day who was going to die when they came out of the barracks. Because on the faces of some people, we could see that they had lost their sense of purpose in life.” I have a friend who has just been diagnosed with prostate cancer. He is unwilling even to consider some of the great alternatives, going to have radical surgery, and yet when you really talk to him he says, “I’m not sure I really want to stay in this life.”

I see that, not one hundred percent of the time in cancer, but about seventy-five percent of the time in cancer. About fifteen percent of the time there is a lot of anger, and about nine-plus percent of the time there is both anger and depression. In heart disease, seventy-five percent of the time there is a great deal of unfinished or unresolved anger, fifteen percent of the time a lot of depression, nine percent or better, both depression and anger. The major portion of cancer seems to be depression. The major cause of heart disease seems to be anger. But my impression is that when an actual heart attack occurs is when an angry person goes through a fit of depression.

That’s interesting. You basically articulated the two underlying psychosomatic or psychospiritual causes for the two leading diseases in this country.

That’s right.

So, in other words, the profile of America would be an overly depressed and an overly angry country right now.

And we can put that throughout western civilization, can’t we?

Yes, I guess we could. Although I think we’re a little bit higher than most of the other countries in terms of those statistics.

That’s right.

So you would say, staying with the existential aspects of this, that basically as a whole, somehow the country is out of purpose with itself?

With its spiritual ideals.

And as a result we are getting these manifestations of terribly chronic and life-threatening diseases?

Exactly.

How does this lack of harmony or this imbalance with one’s spiritual ideals occur—both on a personal level and on a national level?

I think it begins in childhood and it is based on what the child perceives. Please understand I’m saying “perceive” because I think children so often misunderstand. When the child perceives or feels that he or she is being abused, or rejected/abandoned, the abuse leads to anger, and the rejection/abandonment leads to depression.

Let me give you an example. My sister, who was two and a half years older than I, apparently perceived when I was born that my mother rejected her. She was depressed throughout her life and died of complications of hypertension, diabetes, and congestive heart failure. The last time my mother, sister and I were together—two years before my sister’s death—my sister accused my mother in front of me of rejecting her when I was born. And my mother’s response was, “I didn’t reject you, you rejected me.” Now, I don’t know what happened; I was a baby. But my sister’s perception of abandonment led to a lifelong depression.

I, at age four, first remember overhearing that. And I made a commitment that no one would ever get close enough to my heart to hurt me that way. Until about six years ago, I was able to block that kind of feeling of any other person, getting vulnerable enough in my relationships to allow that to happen. Until I realized and got back to the origin of this block of the fourth chakra. I’m very lucky that I didn’t have some serious illness because I wasn’t hurt by it, of course. But my perception was, if you allow someone to get close to your heart, you’ll get hurt. That was my four-year old perception and that led to a coldness and blocking of relationships which, when I finally opened the door, has made me much more vulnerable, but also much more in touch with my own spiritual ideals.

What catalyzed the shift for you, if I may ask?

My father, who died in 1962 at age 54, came back, if you will, and had a conversation with me. And I had said for years, he committed suicide smoking. He said, “I didn’t commit suicide smoking; that was my life contract. You came into this life saying you wanted a strong will. I gave you an example of someone you would considered weak-willed, and a mother that was strong-willed so you could make a choice. That was my gift to you.” Then my sister, who died almost eleven years ago, came in and said, “I just want to let you know that it was not you—it was my life contract. My contract was to learn the path of the heart, and I learned it from the shadow side.” And I said, “What is mine?” And she said, “To learn the path of the heart, from the light side.”

I can relate that totally, Norm, simply because a friend of mine recently committed suicide. It was a very violent death, and it had a lot of repercussions, including some people who were very close to him choosing to deal with it by blaming themselves.

Yes. And there’s the other emotional factor that so often occurs with dis-ease. In addition to anger and depression, there is also guilt. And, of course, in my belief system guilt is an age-old, largely church-induced, control mechanism. If we can make you feel guilty, we can keep control over you. People buy into that and then they take responsibility for things which are really God’s or the soul’s purpose, not the individual. You are responsible for your own actions and if you purposefully rape, murder, rob or harm someone, then I think you have the right to have some guilt and do something about it. But if you have not done those things, I don’t think you have a spiritual right to be guilty.

What helped me heal my own emotions around my friend’s death, was that he– similar to your dad and your sister–visited me. This occurred initially in a very profound dream. The first thing that he did was to assure me he was fine and I said, “I know that, I believe that, but I just wish that you had let me know what you were going through when you were alive so that I might have been able to do something to ease your pain.” He looked at me very, very firmly and said, “No, no. It was necessary to do this. not only for myself, but also to heal you.”And the “you” I knew was plural—meaning our whole group of people who knew and loved him. That was the contract that he had taken on.

Oh boy, that’s a heavy duty one too, isn’t it? It is almost six years now since these two things happened, but when I tell the story about my father and sister I still am on the verge of tears.

When these things happened to you, were they dream experiences or were they meditational? How did they occur?

They were meditational-type things. I had conversations with what I would call my personal angels and sometimes through that connectedness I seem to get information from the other side.

Obviously that’s going to ring a lot of bells for the skeptics, but I know exactly what you’re talking about.

(Laughs.) Well I’ve never been one to worry about the skeptics. That’s their problem, not mine.

Let’s return to a point you brought up earlier, environmental pollution. Here you have a group of people, a corporation perhaps, with a mindset that is either intentional or unconscious, who are polluting and harming the earth with the proliferation of their chemicals, etc. One of the side effects of that, of course, or direct consequences of that, is the drastic increase in environmental illness that’s occurring now around world. So, based on what we were discussing earlier, what factors are involved with people who, for instance, come down with chronic asthma or chronic bronchitis because of environmental pollutants who, as far as they are aware, are not out of alignment with their spiritual ideals and yet are still suffering?

I think we have to look at them beyond the individual personality, even the individual soul at times, and look at the collective unconscious, the morphogenic whole. One of my favorite quotes, which I’ve got to tell you I do not fully understand, is from David Bohm, and I’ve heard it two different ways, so I don’t know which one is the apocryphal and if either one of them is real. One is that the death of the butterfly, and the other is that the flapping of the wings of a butterfly, can change the weather on the other side of the earth. Now from a quantum physics point of view, there is a little part of me that sort of minimally understands that concept. There’s a principle in quantum physics that states when you are near the threshold of a change from one state to another, it takes infinitesimally amounts of energy to change. That is like when you’re near 32 degrees Fahrenheit, a small temperature change either way can throw you into frozen or not frozen, etc. I understand that, and yet I also believe that there is something much bigger than that subtle quantum energy. Something that I would call universal unconscious negativity, and I don’t think that each individual always contributes a huge amount to that. Let us look at Kosovo, let us look at the Middle East, let us look at Ireland, at this point in time. In those regions, the people have produced tremendous energetic negativity on the face of the earth and are still doing so. We can go back to Hitler and we can go back to the Crusades where Christian rebels went out and murdered in the name of Christ. This kind of event, to me, carries power and so there is “thought pollution,” if you will, and I think that thoughts at some level are energetic and that they affect us.

Then we have chemical pollution, and for the last fifty years we have nuclear pollution, and for the last seventy years we have increasing electromagnetic pollution. All of those things put a strain on human physiology. Evolution does not easily take place in seventy years. Seventy million years is more like it for true evolutionary concepts. And so there is, if you will, part of what we might call “group karma” that is involved to some extent. I realize we’re getting pretty metaphysical at this point, but there is a part of me that believes that. And then there’s the example, for instance, of a young lady right now in my practice who is suffering from severe anorexia. Now ordinarily we think that the majority of anorexic people have had some kind of sexual abuse in childhood or adolescence. But this woman cannot even come close to having any memory of such, and I don’t believe in too many hidden memories from this life. I think a false memory is more common than a hidden memory. But my question to her is, “Suppose that you actually have a past life and at age 16 something happened to you in that life and then in this life that age triggered a hidden memory from your DNA that led to this. It may have nothing to do with what you in this life have experienced.” Personally, I don’t believe in reincarnation, I KNOW that it is the way life is, and if other people don’t believe in it, I don’t care. That’s their lack of insight from my point of view, but it’s okay. They’ll learn the lesson when they learn the lesson, in the next life. And so I think, we also have to remember our connectedness with our karma. There is a wonderful book that first really brought this home to me in a way that I hadn’t considered before. It’s written by Michelle Anderson. It was privately published, and is called Master Angelic Transmissions. In the first chapter, this angelic channeling said a huge percentage of people’s DNA, seventy-five to ninety percent, has no known genetic coding. In that DNA is the history not only of our past lives but of all of our ancestors. When I read that it made absolute sense to me that we carry with us our akashic records, if you will, in our DNA and so sometimes our spiritual purpose in this life is to help cleanse our genetic lifeline.

A parallel of that would be in homeopathy with the concept of miasm.

That’s right, absolutely. I think Hahnemann [Note: Samuel Hahnemann (1755-1843), the developer of homeopathic medicine] had a significant piece of the truth, even if he did not have the whole truth.

How do you foresee this consciousness, this paradigm of health and illness that you’re expressing today, entering into the mainstream as we enter into the twenty first century?

Well, I think that managed-care, what I call mangled care,is actually giving us a great gift. Throughout history there has been a pattern of usually four major cycles that on average last twenty to twenty-five years each, and we can look back to periods, just like what we’re going through now, at least for hundreds of years into the past. We’re now in the fourth phrase, which is called the Unraveling, so there’s a great deal of uncertainty. I consider mangled care part of the unraveling of health or medical care. And so we will have a crisis. Nobody knows what the crisis will be. It could be a political crisis, it could be an economic crisis, it could be a chemical or pollution or earth change crisis. We will have a crisis probably not longer than twelve years from now. Looking at the Mayan prophecy, it could be twelve and a half years. We will have such a crisis, and at that time there will be a major, major change.

I believe that we are being prepared for that crisis by mangled care giving such abominable personal attention to individuals. As a result of this, patients are now reaching out to learn ways to take care of themselves. I actually have Medicaid patients who are willing to pay to come to see me to get an alternative opinion because the health care system sucks so badly. Not a lot of them, but some. But that’s consciousness to me. I see people from all walks of life who, in their mangled care policy, can’t get covered for even good essential reasons such as having a baby sometimes, and they are willing to recognize that they have to take responsibility for their thoughts and actions and their own well-being and health care. So I see the public as the hope for the future. When the hundredth monkey, whatever that is, whether it’s twenty-five percent of the people or fifty percent of the people, when enough people become fed up and aware that they must take personal responsibility, then a major shift will occur for the better, and these simple and safe and sacred approaches to life and health will become part of the mainstream.

That explains it from a momentum shift. What about in present day practical terms? What would you tell people to start doing in order to enhance their own health and come into more of a conscious relationship with the Sacred?

Oh, that one’s very easy. Number one is, learn to think right. Now that takes practice. It may take the rest of a lifetime. Thinking right is to watch yourself with little negative thinking. It’s easy to watch yourself with big negative thinking, but with the little negative thinking, like being annoyed when somebody breaks in front of you in traffic, or saying “that will be the death of me,” or “that kills me” — those things, I think, have an important meaning to the subconscious. So start with thinking. That means doing some form of meditative practice, some form of regular relaxation, and some form of personal internal rejuvenation mental technique. Secondly, become physically active. I think that physical activity, from yoga to Tai Chi, to all other forms of physical exercise, in itself is a physically cleansing and balancing approach. And then, thirdly, eat right. That means to me eat a wide variety of real food, as real as you can get in today’s world. That means you avoid about seventy-five percent of the packaged food in grocery stores, and it certainly means you avoid going to the fast food restaurants in general. I’d rather go into a grocery store and buy myself some peanuts or almonds and some fruit, than go to a fast food restaurant.

I know that you yourself have conducted many scientific experiments to verify the nature of spiritual and sacred healing, but where do you see the momentum coming for more of that research? Because one of the problems I think that occurs in this field is that you have a lot of people open to the possibility of spiritual and sacred healing, and therefore you have a lot of people claiming to be healers.

There are two approaches here. Number one, eight years ago we initiated a masters and doctoral program in Energy Medicine through Greenwich University that is fully accredited by the Commonwealth of Australia, and will soon be by New Zealand and the entire British Commonwealth. Ninety-five students are involved in that program. In 2000, we began Holos University Graduate Seminary, which offers masters and doctoral degrees in theology, spiritual healing, and Energy Medicine. We currently have 60 students.

When you say “we”, to whom are you referring?

I’m the director of the program, but Caroline Myss and I started the program through Greenwich University. My number one requirement for a person to get into that program is that they must do a research project, outcome studies that can demonstrate some effect of whatever it is that they’re doing. It can include everything in the broad field that we call Energy Medicine. I foresee a doctorate in Energy Medicine becoming a more important than a masters in public health. Secondly, in October of 2000, Caroline and I introduced a certificate training program in the science of medical intuition. I think the vast majority of people who are out there, at this point, claiming to be medical intuitives are flakes.

I would agree with that.

So we will have a four year training program, and when people finish that they will take an exam. And either they will get at least a seventy-five percent accuracy on the exam, or they will flunk, even after four years of training.

Thirdly, at this moment in time the Barbara Brennan School is, in my opinion the premiere school, in training healers. Obviously, other people come along who sometimes are master healers, but I believe that healers and intuitives should put themselves through rigorous training and examinations before they hang out a shingle and claim to do it. I don’t think the state should do this, but I do think that there will be organizations such as the Barbara Brennan School that will get involved in helping to be certain that a person who is out there has some skill. And then the doctorate program in Energy Medicine, and there will be others in the future, will be documenting more and more the science behind these techniques.

You’ve the opportunity to travel the world and interact with a variety of truly remarkable healers. What are some of the common traits that these people possess, not so much in terms of their methodologies, but as to who they are as individuals?

In general, they have absolute, unequivocal faith that somehow they have a connectedness with God and that their spiritual connectedness with God assists them in being a channel of energy for healing. I think that is more important than all other factors. Some of them have a phenomenally strong ego; some of them seem to be very, very humble and simple about it. So, whether it’s excessive or humble, ego does not seem to be part of the puzzle. I think it’s their fervent belief in God and a desire to help others. And yet I still feel personally that they ought to have some kind of testing. They ought to go through a program of certification of some kind — again not by the state, the state can’t do that — that shows that they are competent. And even then, we’ve got to recognize that, just as no physician is perfect, no healer is perfect. No medical intuitive will ever be perfect. So we need a cooperative, as they have to a greater or lesser extent in England now. Even general practitioners there can choose to work with spiritual healers and make them part of their practice. And, just as I’ve believed for the last twenty-five or thirty years that chiropractic should be part of the medical team, I think spiritual healers, medical intuitives, and other energy practitioners should become part of a team, instead of working individually.

That’s already happening in England?

Yes, the National Health Service actually allows a physician to include a spiritual healer in his or her practice if they choose.

But the single most important thing, in my view, is for the individual patient who has either a disease that is considered incurable, or for which a physician cannot make a diagnosis—including saying there is nothing wrong with you, or that it’s all in your head—to seek a minimum of two to three conventional expert medical opinions. Then, if that is still the situation, I would go back to what one of my professors of medicine told me in 1978, “The role of physician is to stand at the door as the triage officer.” When the patient comes in, if there is something that is drastically, seriously wrong — if they need drugs or surgery to survive — then that is the physician’s role. But when patients don’t need drugs or surgery, we should have a variety of alternative approaches available that we consider safe enough that the patient can select what appeals to him or her.

This is precisely the mission of the American Holistic Medical Association which you founded.

That’s right. It has been for the last twenty-three years a primary mission of the American Holistic Medical Association and I believe that it will eventually grow and become further integrated so that we will have physicians and energy healers and chiropractors and osteopaths and aromatherapists and all of these people working at least in a network of inter-referral, if not in a central healing clinic environment.

If someone is in a situation where they have exhausted their conventional care options, and even exhausted their alternative medical options, and are now interested in exploring working with a sacred or a spiritual healer, what would be the criteria that they ought to use in order to be assured that they are actually interacting with someone who is competent.

Well, if the healer is a graduate of the Barbara Brennan School, I would consider that a good qualification. Beyond any doubt at the present time, Brennan graduates are the only major group that we can say are likely to be at least competent, etc. I’m sure they’re not one hundred percent good, but I’d rate them at probably ninety-five to ninety-eight percent. Secondly, it should be someone who by unequivocal word of mouth has obtained a reputation as a competent healer, such as Olga Worrall. She and her husband did healing for some thirty-five years in a church. So at least going into a church that has healing services is worthwhile. But don’t just go because some says “I’m a spiritual healer.” Get a reference.

___________________________________________________________________

Assessing Your Attitudes

The following questionnaire is adapted from Dr. Shealy’s book Sacred Healing: The Curing Power of Energy and Spirituality and can be used to assess your spiritual attitudes in order to discover your personal strengths and weaknesses in relation to the Divine.

As you read each of the statements below, consider whether you emotional agree or disagree with it. Score your emotional response to each statement as follows:

Strong Agreement ++

Mild Agreement +

Neutral 0

Mild Disagreement –

Strong Disagreement —

(It is possible that some statements may elicit a general, or mild, agreement, while simultaneously provoking a feeling of uneasiness related to an exception to it. In the case of a mixed response, score such statements +- to reflect this conflict.)

__ I’ve forgiven everyone who has wronged me.

__ I forgive those who unintentionally wrong me.

__ I forgive those who purposefully wrong me.

__ When I tell those who have wronged me what they have done, I expect them to apologize or repent.

__ I have sometimes wronged or harmed others.

__ I apologize when I wrong others.

__ I expect others to forgive me when I apologize.

__ I helped someone else within the last week.

__ I walked and talked with someone I love during the last week.

__ I participate in a spiritual practice regularly.

__ I believe that my attitude each day is more important than attending church.

__ I believe my affliction(s) was given to me by God as part of a divine plan.

__ I believe God is wrathful and punishes sinners.

__ I have lots of friends and see/visit them often.

__ I pray regularly for myself and others.

__ I believe the most important goal of life is service to God or others.

__ I prayed for someone else yesterday and today.

__ I often (more than once a week) watch the sunset or sunrise with a feeling of reverence.

__ I read religious or inspirational materials at least once a week.

__ I attend a fun event or listen to good music at least once a week.

__ I meditate, pray, or think about the beauty of life regularly.

__ Everyone is born a sinner.

__ Humankind is basically bad.

__ I believe hypnosis is the work of the Devil.

__ I believe everyone has a right to his or her beliefs.

__ I believe that those who do not share my religious beliefs are sinners and likely to go to Hell.

__ God does not forgive sinners unless the debts of their sins are paid.

__ If your believes are different from mine, you cannot help me.

__ My spiritual/religious beliefs are:

a. strong ___

b. correct and right ___

__ I feel calm and serene most of the time.

__ When I become frustrated, I pause and calm myself.

__ I feel compassion for other human beings.

__ I go out of my way to help other persons.

__ I know I can attain my goals.

__ I believe I can accomplish anything to which I apply myself adequately.

__ I will apply myself enough to accomplish my goals.

__ I feel great joy in my life.

__ I can face wwhateverlife offers.

__ I believe I can learn from my problems.

__ I willingly or lovingly contribute to help others less fortunate than I.

__ I believe tomorrow will be a better day.

__ I believe in a benevolent God.

__ I believe in life after death.

__ I believe I have a soul that survives death.

__ I believe one dies and goes to Heaven or Hell.

__ I believe in reincarnation.

__ Reincarnation is an evil concept.

__ I have the willpower to accomplish my goals.

__ I am wise enough to make the right choices.

__ I make rational, reasonable choices.

__ I feel love for all other human beings.

__ I bless all other human beings.

__ I bless all who have wronged me.

__ My life is meaningful.

 

RESOURCES

The Shealy Wellness Institute

5607 South 222nd Road

Fair Grove, Missouri 65648

(417) 267-2900

http://www.normshealy.com

Holos University Graduate Seminar

1328 East Evergreen

Springfield, Missouri 65803

(417) 865-5940

http://www.hugs-edu.org

By C. Norman Shealy, M.D., Ph. D.

Sacred Healing: The Curing Power of Energy and Spirituality (Element Books), 1999

Miracles Do Happen: A Physician’s Experience With Alternative Medicine (HarperCollins UK), 1999

90 Days To Stress Free Living (Harper Collins UK), 1999

The Creation of Health: The Emotional, Psychological, and Spiritual Responses That Promote Health and Healing (with Caroline Myss) (Three Rivers Press), 1998

Holy Water, Sacred Oil: The Fountain of Youth (Brindabella Books), 2000.

